Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery

I have started reading Anne’ s book since the beginning of this month. I have to say, I LOVE it! Anne is such an interesting girl and by reading her stories, I came to a better understanding of children. It reminds me of my childhood as well, all the mischief and happiness that I long forgotten. I thought over my childhood with a new perspective and have understand the cause of some of my behaviors.

As a kid possesses active imagination, I have seem things in a different way and this can be a good thing while can be the cause of misery. Imagination can exaggerate happiness and sorrow, I found myself experience ups and downs of emotion and this caused me troubles. I thought I am an unhappy child but now I understand I am such a lucky happy child. For all those suffered will makes the happiness more sweet. Love from family and  friendship was gained solidly as I grow up.

Some people will think Anne is too romantic, too unrealistic and immature, compared to Emily (in Emily’s books). Yes, Anne is too romantic, but I love her because of that. It is purely beauty and loveliness. And we have to remember this book was written by Montgomery before she married, more jolly and worry-free, which reflects her life and her feeling. Montgomery experiences more sadness and bitterness after marriage (see her Diary) and this affected her writing–Emily’s books were more real and sad. It can be said, Anne was written by Montgomery as an unmarried young maid while Emily was penned by Montgomery as matured woman who came to understand the core of life. But the value of Anne’s books is to remind us the colorful childhood, the gain and loss of growing up and the power of imagination.

I can’t help laughing and crying while reading the book. Here are some interesting quotes from the book:

Maples are such sociable trees, they are always rustling and whispering to you

But cakes have such terrible habit of turning out bad just when you especially want them to be good.

The dews were so heavy that the fields glistened like cloth of silver

Next to trying and winning, the best thing is trying and failing

But if the path set before her feet was to be narrow she knew that flowers of quiet happiness would bloom along it. The joy of sincere work and worthy aspiration and congenial friendship were to be hers; nothing could rob her of her birthright of fancy or her ideal world of dreams. And there was always the bend in the road!

 

Leave a Reply

